Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Hamilton Music Awards - A Few Surprises In The Results

Here are the final results from the Hamilton Music Awards on November 18, 2012 at McIntyre Theatre, Mohawk College. My predictions are in black. Actual winners, if different than my predictions, are in blue.

1. Female Artist of the Year

Terra Lightfoot – Terra Lightfoot

2. Male Artist of the Year

Wax Mannequin – No Safe Home
Winner: Lee Reed
3. Local Group of the Year by the Peoples Choice 

Winner: Hey Brother
4. New Artist/Group of the Year

Weekend Riot Club – Rubber Bullets Winner: Missy Bauman
5. Jazz Recording of the Year

Skip Prokop - Smoothside Yes
6. Roots Recording of the Year

Ben Caplan & the Casual Smokers – In The Time Of The Great Remembering Yes

7. Alternative/Indie Rock Recording of the Year

San Sebastian – Relations Winner: CA Smith
8. Folk/Traditional Recording of the Year

Jeremy Fisher – Mint Juleps Winner: S. G. Sinnicks
9. ArcelorMittal Dofasco Industry Lifetime Achievement Award 
Gordie Tapp
10. Rock Recording of the Year

Arkells – Michigan Left Yes
11. Loud/Metal Recording of the Year

Skynet – Skynet 
Winner: Dawn Before Descent
12. Punk Recording of the Year

The Dirty Nil – Little Metal Baby Fists Yes

13. Adult Alternative Recording of the Year

Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss Yes
14. Blues Recording of the Year

Steve Strongman – A Natural Fact
Winner: Harrison Kennedy
15. Alt/Country Recording of the Year

Terra Lightfoot – Terra Lightfoot Yes
16. Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year

Hachey the Mouth Peace – Outside The Box  Winner: Redlight King
17. Pop Recording of the Year

Tomi Swick – Tomi Swick Yes
18. Religious Recording of the Year

Peter Tigchelaar – More Like Lightening 
Winner: Neeraj Prem and Brian Harding
19. ArcelorMittal Dofasco Artist Lifetime Achievement Award 

20. Instrumental Recording of the Year

Andre Bisson – Till The Real Thing Comes Along 
Winner: Ralph Buschmeyer
21. Songwriter of the Year

Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss
Winner: The Arkells
22. Female Vocalist of the Year

Missy Bauman – Missy Bauman
Winner: Terra Lightfoot
23. Male Vocalist of the Year

Max Kerman – Arkells – Michigan Left
Winner: Harrison Kennedy
24. Canadian Recording of the Year by Peoples Choice (Sales over 10,000 units) 
Monster Truck
25. Record of the Year

Arkells – Michigan Left
Winner: The Rest

Fan Voting is Closed.
Thanks for participating in our fun vote.

No comments: